Bet on AFL With BitCoin

1280px-Australian_Football_League.svgThe Australian Football League (AFL) is the top competition for Australian Rules football. There really no sport quite like it on the planet, even if it does have similarities with American football.

This unique sport is one of many you can place Bitcoin sports bets on, and since it is really the only competition of its kind, that makes wagering Bitcoins on it a very appealing prospect indeed.

About the Australian Football League

The Australian Football League consists of 18 teams, from five Australian states. Victoria hosts a total of 10 teams, whilst most have two or more. As well as Australia, New Zealand also hosts some AFL matches. The competition begins after a pre-season known as the NAB Challenge, with the league structure fairly similar to that of American football, consisting of a regular season followed by a set of playoffs, known as the Finals Series. The winning team in the AFL are known as the “Premiers” rather than the champions.

Bet On AFL With BitCoin

Online Casino
Play Now
100% up to 5BTC
Platform from SoftSwiss with NetEnt, MicroGaming, Ezugi. US Friendly for Bitcoin.

The history of the Australian Football League

Originally, the AFL was known as the Victorian Football League, since all of the competing teams were based in Victoria. The league was founded in 1897, out of the remnants of the Victorian Football Association (VFA). The first season of the VFL began in 1897. Despite acquiring new teams from other states in the 1980s, the name of the tournament wasn’t changed to the Australian Football League until 1990.

The most titles won in the competition is a joint record held by Essendon and Carlton. Essendon haven’t won a championship since 2000, and Carlton’s winless streak goes back even further, to 1995. Collingwood holds the record for the most consecutive AFL/VFL premiership titles, having won four on the spin from 1927 to 1930. All three of these teams still compete in the AFL today.

AFL teams

The current season of the AFL consists of 18 teams, with most of them still resident in the state of Victoria. Adelaide FC, the Brisbane Lions, Carlton FC, Collingwood FC, Essendon FC, Fremantle FC, Geelong FC, Gold Coast FC, the Greater Western Sydney Giants, Hawthorn FC, Melbourne FC, North Melbourne FC, Port Adelaide FC, Richmond FC, St Kilda FC, the Sydney Swans, the West Coast Eagles and the Western Bulldogs are those teams.

The regular season

Once the NAB Challenge is out of the way, pre-season is concluded and the regular season (known as the Premiership season) kicks into gear. A total of 23 rounds of matches are played, beginning in March and ending in September. Teams will play a total of 22 games, with one bye round. After the season is complete, the team which finished top of the table are declared the Minor Premiers and awarded the McClelland Trophy.

The Finals Series and the AFL Grand Final

The top eight finishing teams (including the Minor Champions) are then placed into the Finals Series. This is a playoffs tournament, which eventually determines the Premiers (champions) of the Australian Football League. The Finals Series lasts four weeks, and ends with just two teams left in the Grand Final event.

Those two teams will play one more match to determine who will be the Premiers of the current AFL season. The match is traditionally held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, on the final Saturday in September.

Place bets on the Australian Football League with CloudBet

The Australian Football League is the only sport of its kind, if you don’t count its similarities with American football. For that reason, it is often available to bet on at major online sportsbooks. However, there are only a handful of really top sportsbooks that will permit bets with Bitcoins.

One such site is CloudBet. CloudBet not only accepts bets on Australian Football League games, but also offers new players a welcome bonus, where they can pocket extra cash to bet on sporting events.

Given the large number of Australian bettors wagering money on the Australian Football League, this is not a competition that anybody would wish to miss out on, providing it is currently the season for AFL action, and Bitcoin bets with CloudBet.