Bet On NBA With BitCoin

nba logoThere is no bigger domestic basketball competition than the NBA. The National Basketball Association is the number one basketball league in the United States and Canada. With so many games and plenty of clubs to wager on, the NBA is primed to be one of the most entertaining sporting events you can wager your Bitcoins on.

About The NBA

The NBA isn’t just the main basketball competition in the USA. It is also considered to be number one basketball competition in the world. Although it has undergone some dark spells in its history, by the 1990s, the NBA was very much a hugely popular sport once more.

This was partly due to the success of stars like Michael Jordan, although many international players also joined the NBA, and this boosted the sports viewing figures across the rest of the world. Like most North American sports, the NBA has also adopted a playoff system, to determine the national champions of the basketball league in the United States and Canada.

Bet on NBA With BitCoin

Online Casino
Play Now
100% up to 5BTC
Platform from SoftSwiss with NetEnt, MicroGaming, Ezugi. US Friendly for Bitcoin.

The history of the NBA

The NBA has its origins in New York City in 1946, although it didn’t take the name NBA until 1949, when it merged with the National Basketball League (NBL). Despite starting out with 11 sides, the NBA dropped to 8 franchises from 1953-1954. Like most American sports in their early histories, the sport was dominated by whites until WataruMisaka (of Japanese and American heritage) played for the New York Knicks in 1947.

Harold Hunter then became the first black player in NBA history, when he joined the Washington Capitols in 1950. Hunter would ultimately end up not playing, but Chuck Cooper would with the Celtics. Between 1966 and 1974, a NBA would see 18 teams enter the league, this was partly in a bid to battle a rival league, the ABA. The merger of the ABA with the NBA in 1976, would ultimately see the number of franchise rise more than ever before.

More and more cities wished to join the NBA, and soon star players were being brought in the NBA from everywhere. By 1992, a group known as the Dream Team was established to participate in the 1992 Olympics, which included such giants as Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing, Charles Barkley and others. By 1995, two Canadian sides entered the NBA, although the Vancouver Grizzlies would later move to Memphis, Tennessee.

Despite several “lockouts” in recent times (lockouts are periods where the season is on a hiatus whilst team, player or administrative issues are sorted out), which have shorted NBA calendars in every season where they have occurred, the NBA continues to grow from strength to strength, and is the most profitable basketball league in the world today.
As good as the LA Lakers may have been in recent years, they have only won 16 NBA championships. The record goes to the Boston Celtics, with 17.

NBA teams

This year, a total of 30 teams participates in the NBA. The Celtics, Nets, Knicks, 76ers and Raptors, Bulls, Cavaliers, Pistons, Pacers, Bucks, Hawks, Hornets, Heat, Magic, Wizards, Nuggets, Timberwolves, Thunder, Trail Blazer, Jazz, Warriors, Clippers, Lakers, Suns, Kings, Mavericks, Rockets, Grizzlies, Pelicans and Spurs are all fully competing franchises.

How the season works

The NBA begins in late September, with the regular season. All 30 teams are divided up into two conferences (East and West), of three divisions consisting of five teams each. Each team will play 82 games, 41 at home and 41 away. Each team plays those in its own division 4 times, whilst each team players six teams in the other two conference divisions four times, and the remaining four teams three times. Each team will then place two games against all of the teams in the other conference. The regular season ends in April.

The NBA Playoffs

The three division in each conference will make it through to the playoffs, along with the team with the next best record in each conference. A playoff format is then used for teams to advance in a knockout-style tournament. Each knockout stage consists of a “best of seven” style structure.

The first to win four matches, progresses to the next round. Eventually, Eastern and Western Conference champions will be decided in the semi-finals, and they will square off against one another in the NBA Final, to determine the national champion.

Place bets on the NBA with CloudBet

If you want to bet on the NBA, or any other basketball event with your Bitcoins, then we heartily recommend Cloudbet. This superb Bitcoin accepting sportsbook is just the ticket for all your NBA and basketball needs.