The Big Bash League

Big-Bash-logoThe Big Bash League is top cricket competition in Australia. The tournament is known officially as the KFC T20 Big Bash League, due to sponsorship. This new city team based league was founded in 2011, to replace the state team based KFC Twenty20 Big Bash.

The competition is quite prestigious as two places in the Champions League T20 are up for grabs. It might not have the most history, but the Big Bash League is certainly going to appeal to cricket fans who love to place Bitcoin bets.

About the Big Bash League

The Big Cash League is about standard in terms of size. The league consists of the average 8 teams, and has been played since 2011. Twenty20 cricket is played in this division, which is run by Cricket Australia. Despite several expansion ideas, the league has remained largely unchanged since its inception.

New Zealand teams, and teams from Newcastle, Canberra, Geelong and the Gold Coast were considered to join the division, until those plans were shelved due to them having inadequate facilities, and a concern about “watering down” the pool of skilled cricket players.

The history of the Big Bash League

The Big Bash League was founded in 2011, to replace the state team based Big Bash competition. This meant that city based teams would be able to complete. There isn’t that much history to praise the competition with, since the tournament first appeared less than five years ago.

The Big Bash League may not be expanding any time soon, but it will be evolving. A women’s Big Bash League is schedule to start this year, with the same teams and colours as the men’s sides.

In terms of historical records, there have been only three winners of the four Big Bash League tournaments currently held. The Sydney Sixers won the inaugural competition by 7 wickets over the Perth Scorchers. The Perth Scorchers then lost their second final the following year, to 2012-2013’s winners, Brisbane Heat.

The Perth Scorchers have actually appeared in all four finals of the tournament, winning the last two, against the Hobart Hurricanes and the Sydney Sixers, in 2013-2014 and 2014-2015, respectively.

Big Bash League teams

For the upcoming 2015-2016 season, the Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder will all compete in the Big Bash League. The colours for those teams are blue, sky blue, purple, red, dark green, orange, pink, and lime green, respectively.

The league season

During the season, a total of 35 matches are played. Each teams plays a total of eight games during the group stage. After the group stage round is complete, the bottom four sides in the table are eliminated from the competition. The top four sides go into a semi-finals knock-out tournament.

The fourth placed team will play the first placed team, whilst the second placed side will play the third placed team. The winners of those two matches will meet in the final, to determine the champions of the Big Bash League.

Champions League T20 qualification

There are two places in the Champions League T20 available for Australian teams competing in the Big Bash League. Obviously, the winners of the Big Bash League are invited along, but so are the runners-up of the final. Many have considered this unfair, since the actual group stage winners may end up winning, but the rule is quite clear that it is the two teams in the final that will win Champions League T20 spots.

Place bets on the Big Bash League with CloudBet

Australia’s Big Bash League can be wagered on by visiting a Bitcoin betting site, such as CloudBet. They covers all of the Big Bash League cricket action, as well as other major cricket competitions from across the globe. As well as being able to wager with Bitcoins, you will also be able to claim a welcome bonus, when you make your first deposit as a new player at CloudBet.