Indian Premier League (IPL)

Pepsi_IPL_logoThe Indian Premier League (known as the IPL), is the top division for cricket in India, and regarded by many as the most lucrative domestic cricket competition in the world. The IPL is a Twenty20 cricket competition, and was founded in 2008 by the BCCI, Board of Control for Cricket in India.

The teams that participate in the league are not only Indian cities, but also franchises, owned by several illustrious names, including Bollywood celebrities. Since the IPL is so popular and renowned making it widely offered by BitCoin betting sites and regular ones alike.

About the Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League has been played every year since 2008. It is currently sponsored by Pepsi. The very first season took place between April and June, although this was shortened to May for the second season. This earlier format will also be the case for the 2015 edition.

An auction for players normally takes place. An auction also took place for the clubs themselves before the start of the third season, when $723 million was raised. The starting time of the IPL this year was postponed by a week, due to the 2015 Cricket World Cup taking place, during which Indian players were away from their clubs to compete.

The history of the Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League was actually only founded in 2008, so it is still a relatively new league. That being said, the concept of T20 (Twenty20) only goes back to 2003, itself. The IPL has continually broke new ground. For instance, in 2010, it become the first sporting event to ever appear on YouTube live. It is also a highly profitable league, being worth roughly $7.2 billion.

Since the league began, the number of winners is quite remarkable. Of the 10 teams who have ever participating in the Indian Premier League, a total of 5 have won. The current record for the most championships is tied between the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Chennai Super Kings.

Despite their shared record, most will agree that the Chennai Super Kings are the most successful side, since they have qualified for all but two finals, and have won in the Champions League T20 competition, too.

IPL teams

Currently, a total of eight teams participate in the Indian Premier League. Those teams include the Chennai Super Kings, the Delhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab, the Kolkata Knight Riders (who are the reigning champions), the Mumbai Indians, the Rajasthan Royals, the Royal Challengers Bangalore, and the Sunrisers Hyderabad. Previous teams to compete in the league include Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Pune Warriors India, and the Deccan Chargers. All of those teams are now defunct.

The league format

The eight teams in the competition first meet in a group stage, where they will play a total of 14 matches, two against each opposing team. After the group stage is complete, the top two teams advance to a qualifier, whilst the third and fourth placed teams advance to the eliminator round. The bottom four sides have their season ended after the group stage.

The winner of the qualifier will automatically gain a place in the final of the IPL. The winner of the eliminator round will then face off against the loser of the qualifier.

This gives the loser of the qualifier a second chance to make the final. If they defeat the winner of the eliminator, they will meet the winner of the qualifier in the final, for another re-run of the qualifier game. The winners of the final match are determined to be the Indian Premier League champions.

Qualification to the Champions League T20

The top three teams in the Indian Premier League automatically qualify for the Champions League Twenty20 tournament the following year. The team who ends the Indian Premier League campaign in fourth place is given a qualifier against a side either from New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka or Pakistan, to win a place in the CLT20 competition.

Place bets on the Indian Premier League with CloudBet

CloudBet is the ideal place to slap Bitcoin bets down on Indian Premier League games. IPL matches are always hosted by this online sportsbook, which is one of the few major Bitcoin accepting online sportsbooks to offer those kinds of bets. With plenty of action available in the Indian Premier League, you’ll have a lot to choose from with your Bitcoin sports bets.