New Zealand Rugby League (NZRL)

nzrl logoRugby League is a popular sport in New Zealand, although the country’s’ top Rugby League side actually plays in the Australasian Rugby League, known as the NRL. So, where are New Zealand’s other Rugby League sides supposed to fit into the picture? They play in a competition which falls under the jurisdiction of the NZRL (New Zealand Rugby League), which we will take a closer look at in this Bitcoin betting article.

About the New Zealand Rugby League

The NZRL is a confusing organisation, which not only manages the affairs of the Kiwis (New Zealand’s national Rugby League side), but also the various domestic divisions of Rugby League in the country. The top division is the National Premiership, although 15s, 17s, Premier Grades, secondary school tournaments, Junior Kiwis and Resident 16s and 18s teams also participate in this pyramid of Rugby League competitions. We’ll be focusing on the National Premiership, though.

Bet BitCoins on NZRL at CloudBet

Online Casino
Play Now
100% up to 5BTC
Platform from SoftSwiss with NetEnt, MicroGaming, Ezugi. US Friendly for Bitcoin.

The history of the league

The New Zealand Rugby League was formed in 1910, for administering the rules and regulations of the various Rugby League competitions held in the country. The sport is run by seven zones, with fifteen districts and seven affiliates also taking charge of the organization of the sport in New Zealand. The National Premiership was designed to replace the Bartercard Premiership, which has preceded it.

The modern National Premiership began in 2010, when teams from the Premier, 17s and 15s grades all joined up for a two-month long tournament. The Premier Grade teams compete in the main competition, known as the National Premiership, and aim to win the Albert Baskerville Trophy.

The trophy is named after the famous rugby player Bert Baskerville, who played in the early part of the twentieth century. He died tragically of pneumonia at just 25 years of age, during the 1907-1908 season.

Super League teams

The 2015 edition of the National Premiership consists of the Northern Swords, Central Vipers, Akarana Falcons, Wellington Orcas, Counties Manukau Stingrays, Wai-Coa-Bay Stallions and the South Island Scorpion teams competing against one another. Although South Island plays in the Premier Grade, in the 17 and 15 competitions, the Canterbury Bulls have replaced them. They may do so in the Premier Grade competition in the future.

The league season

Each team in the National Competition will compete against the other, so that they have played a total of six games in all. After those matches, the top two teams in the league compete in a one-off final, to determine the winner of the New Zealand National Premiership, which is also sometimes known as the National Competition.

Place bets on the Super League with CloudBet

The New Zealand Rugby League system is complicated, and there aren’t too many online sportsbooks which takes bets on it. This is certainly true at the 17s and 15s levels. However, the National Competition’s Premiership season, although short, is certainly one of the NZRL events you would be able to find at some top Bitcoin sports betting websites.

One such site is CloudBet. They not only offer New Zealand Rugby Union betting, but they also offer Bitcoin bets on several other major Rugby League events, such as the English Super League, and the National Rugby League (NRL) of Australia, where New Zealand’s top Rugby League team competes.