Bet on Copa América 2015 With BitCoin

2015_Copa_AméricaJust like you have the European Championship which takes place between the top European nations; the Copa América takes between the South American ones. This football tournament is the oldest international football competition in the world. Unlike other major football competitions, it does not have fixed date on when it will be played.

For instance, upcoming Copa América tournaments will take place in 2015, and then in 2016, to celebrate the centennial of the competition. The winner of the Copa América is invited to play in the Confederations Cup, if they wish.


Best BitCoin Betting Site:

Online Casino
Play Now
100% up to 5BTC
Platform from SoftSwiss with NetEnt, MicroGaming, Ezugi. US Friendly for Bitcoin.

The history of the Copa América

The Copa América (known officially as the Campeonato Sudamericano de Football) was first played between July 2 and July 17 in 1916, as a tournament hosted by Argentina to celebrate its independence. CONMEBOL (the confederation of South American football teams) has officially recognised this as the first tournament.

The competition grew from there on out, and has been hosted by Argentina a record 9 times since. Uruguay and Chile are close in second, with a total of 7 events each, whilst Peru and Brazil have hosted it 6 and 5 times, respectively.

Ecuador boasts 4 tournaments, whilst it has been played across South America 3 times. Bolivia have hosted the tournament twice, whilst Paraguay, Colombia and Venezuela have each hosted it once.

In terms of victories, Uruguay has the most championships, with 15, including the most recent edition in 2011. Argentina have won it a total of 14 times, whilst Brazil have 8 wins. Paraguay have won the competition twice, as have Peru. Single winners include Bolivia and Colombia. Chile, Ecuador and Venezuela have never won the Copa América.

About the Copa América 2015

This year’s edition of the Copa América will be hosted in Chile. Brazil were scheduled to host the event, but since they hosted the World Cup in 2014, the Confederations Cup in 2013, and will host the Olympics in 2016, the country opted out of hosting the event. The tournament went to the next alphabetical South American side, which was Chile. This year’s Copa América will feature 12 teams, though there are only 10 in CONMEBOL, and will take place from June 11 until July 4.

Guest appearances in the tournament

Hosting a tournament with just 10 teams is a challenging affair. To make it easier, a total of 12 teams will compete. Since there are only 10 teams in the confederation, 2 additional teams have been invited to compete, namely Mexico and Jamaica. This is not without precedent.

In the past, Costa Rica (4 times), Honduras (once), Japan (once), Mexico (9 times) and the United States (three times) have been invited to play in the Copa América. Mexico has fared the best, finishing second in 1993, and 2001.

The finals

There are 3 groups of 4 teams competing in the Copa América 2015. Chile, Mexico, Ecuador and Bolivia are in Group A, whilst Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Jamaica are in Group B. Brazil, Colombia, Peru and Venezuela will compete in Group C. The top two teams in each group will advance to the next round along with the two best third-placed finishers, where it becomes a strict knock-out tournament.

The knock-out stages begin with quarter-finals, with the winner of Group A facing the best third-placed team. The runner-up of Group A will square off against the runner-up of Group C. The winner of Group B will face the second best third-placed team, whilst the Winner of Group C will face the runner-up of Group B. From there on out, the outcome of single matches will determine who makes it through to the semi-finals, and the final.

A third place play-off match is also played, the day before the final. The final of the Copa América will take place on July 4, in Santiago Chile. The city’s famous Estadio Nacional will host the event.

Place bets on the Copa América 2015 with CloudBet

The Copa América is occurring really soon, so if you want to use your Bitcoins to place bets on one of the best football tournaments around, this is your chance.

We’d recommend using CloudBet, as they are the top dogs for online sports betting with Bitcoins. You can place a host of bets on the tournament, including winners of individual matches, as well as the outright competition winners.