Bet On La Liga With Bitcoin

spanish_la_liga_bbva_logoLa Liga is the short name for the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional (LFP), otherwise known as the Spanish Premier Division. Due to sponsorship, the league is currently known as the Liga BBVA. Spain’s top football division is regarded as one of the best in the world, with two of the world’s most successful football clubs plying their trade there, in F.C. Barcelona and Real Madrid C.F.

About La Liga

La Liga is played every year in Spain. The division is the highest domestic football league that Spain has to offer. 20 teams participate in La Liga, although it used to be more. All in all, sixty teams have played in the division since it first began. La Liga doesn’t just feature Spanish players, since many South American players come over to Europe to try their hand at playing in this top flight.

The title race is not as exciting in La Liga as in other divisions, due to F.C. Barcelona and Real Madrid C.F.’s domination of the league, which has been the case since the 1950s.

Bet On La Liga at CloudBet

Online Casino
Play Now
100% up to 5BTC
Platform from SoftSwiss with NetEnt, MicroGaming, Ezugi. US Friendly for Bitcoin.

The history of La Liga

The Spanish PrimeraDivisión began back in 1927, and consisted of just 10 teams. Athletic Bilbao were the frontrunner in those early years, before being replaced by Valencia and Sevilla in the 1940s. Form the 1950s until the late 90s, F.C. Barcelona and Real Madrid C.F. had been dominating the league, but by 2000, both Barcelona and Real Madrid had lost their footing at the top of the league, as clubs such as Deportivo de La Coruña,Villareal, Real Sociedad and Mallorca all made a name for themselves. Valencia also found themselves back on top.

More recently, Atlético de Madrid have made a name for themselves, claiming the 2013/2014 La Liga crown over their fierce rivals, and only narrowly missing out on the Champions League to go with it.

All in all, Real Madrid are the most successful club in La Liga, with 32 titles. F.C. Barcelona have 22 titles to their name, whilst Atlético de Madrid have won 10. Athletic Bilbao themselves have won 8 titles, whilst Valencia have 6. Real Sociedad won 2 league titles in the early eighties, whilst Deportivo La Coruña’s single league title was delivering in 99/00. Sevilla and Real Betis haven’t won La Liga since the 40s and 30s, respectively, and only have one title each.

The league season

La Liga begins in September and ends in June, every year. Each club in division must play the others twice, once at home and once away. This makes for a total of 38 games per team. Like most major football divisions, the team which sits on top of the league table at the end of season is crowned the Spanish champions.

20 teams currently features in the 2014/2015 edition of La Liga. Those teams include UD Almeria, Athletic Club Bilbao, Atlético de Madrid, F.C. Barcelona, Real Celta de Vigo, Córdoba CF, Deportivo de La Coruña, SD Eibar, Elche CF, RCD Espanyol, Getafe CF, Granada CF, Levante UD, Málaga CF, Rayo Vallecano, Real Madrid C.F., Real Sociedad, Sevilla FC, Valencia CF and Villareal CF.

The biggest days of the season are generally “El Clasico” matches. These are days when F.C. Barcelona host Real Madrid at the Nou Camp, or Real Madrid play host to F.C. Barcelona at the Santiago Bernabeu. These encounters always prove fiery and are great for betting with Bitcoins.

European qualification and relegation

Once La Liga is completed, the top finishing side in the league will be declared champions of Spain. The top four teams will automatically qualify for the UEFA Champions League the following season, whilst teams finishing fifth and sixth will quality for the Europa League.

The teams which finish in eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth place in the league will be relegated to the Segunda División. From that division, the first and second placed teams will automatically be promoted to La Liga, whilst the teams finishing third to sixth in the Segunda División, must compete in a playoff to determine which club bags that last La Liga promotion spot.

Place bets on La Liga with CloudBet

La Liga matches are one of the safer bets you can make with your Bitcoins. The Spanish league doesn’t provide shockers very often, so you can be reasonably comfortable when placing a bet on one of the big dogs to win. We’d recommend that you do this with CloudBet. This Bitcoin sports book has some truly superb markets and promotions, which you can take full advantage of.